Women’s Rugby

Womens Rugby


Inter Provincial League

The senior team management comprises of: 

Head coach – Eric Songwiqi

Assistant coach – Namhla Siyolo

Team manager – Portia Jonga

Although they did not come back with a win, their performance has shown much improvement this year. Results are as follows:





22 June

Wolfson Stadium, PE

EP (20)

Border (12)

6 July

King Edward, Montagu

EP (36)

Boland (0)

20 July

Wolfson Stadium, PE

EP (17)

KZN (20)

3 August

Daniels Pienaar, UTH

EP (5)

Bulls (10)

17 Auguts

City Park, CPT

EP (22)


International games

We had the pleasure of hosting Spanish games in our Union.

  • 14 September SA select woman vs Spain invitation – WJ De Wit stadium, Despatch.
  • 17 September EP women invitation vs Spain – Wolfson.
  • 21 September SA women vs Spain women (Test) – WJ De Wit stadium, Despatch.


This year S.A. Rugby selected seven of our ladies from the provincial team to be part of the SA squad against the Spain and Scotland test matches:

Aseza Hele, Noxolo Mankayi, Monica Mazibukwana, Phelisa Mrwebi, Buhlebethu Sonamzi.

Sibabalwe Klaas, Nomawethu Mabenge and Anacadia Minnaar were part of the selection but couldn’t attend because of their exams. However, Anacadia and Nomawethu joined the Scotland test matches in Cape Town on October.



National Club champs

Club champs were held in Cape Town for two days in October. Because Kwaru RC were the winners of the league, they represented Eastern Province. They went to Cape town as the defending champions this year but left the tournament with a bronze medal.


U16’s and 18’s (Youth week in Jeppe H.S.)

U16’s team management comprises of: 

  • Head coach – Mzwandile Makhunga
  • Assistant coach – Sicelo Mankayi
  • Team manager – Qaqamba Diko

U16’s results:

EP 22 – KZN 17

EP 5 – WP 22

EP 25 – 5 Limpompo Blue Bulls

U18’s team management comprises of:

  • Head coach – Warren van Rooyen
  • Assistant coach – Lorinda Brown
  • Team manager – Dalene Malusi

U18’s results:

EP 0 – 17 WP

EP 39 – 0 Limpompo Blue Bulls

EP 15 – 12 KZN


Unfortunately, the U/20’s did not have a league this year. However, four players were invited to be part of the outbound tour to Zimbabwe namely:

Amahle Nyoba, Phelisa Mrwebi, Anacadia Minnaar, Sanelisiwe Charlie, Sibabalwe Klaas.

The SA U20 team went on to win that tournament.